Five Conditions Added to the Compassionate Allowances Program

Burke Law PLLC Aug. 28, 2018

Unfortunately, the Social Security Disability claim process is often long and grueling. This is a fact that is even more disheartening to those with the most severe of conditions.

As a result, the Social Security Administration created the “Compassionate Allowances program,” which over time has identified several medical conditions that, by definition, meet the Social Security Administration’s standards for disability benefits. These conditions are so severe that claims are often allowed based on evidence of the diagnosis alone. The result is a sped-up process and benefits being provided quickly.

On August 20, 2018, the Social Security Administration added the following five conditions to the Compassionate Allowances program:

1) Fibrolamellar Cancer;

2) Megacystis Microcolon Intestinal Hypoperistalsis Syndrome;

3) Megalencephaly Capillary Malformation Syndrome;

4) Superficial Siderosis of the Central Nervous System; and

5) Tetrasomy 18p.

To date, over 500,000 people have been approved benefits through the Compassionate Allowances program. A full list of Compassionate Allowances conditions can be found here.

If you are wondering whether you may qualify for disability benefits through the Compassionate Allowances program contact Burke Law, PLLC today for a free consultation.